A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this fact

While it is widely believed that tourism is one of the key drivers contributing to incomes, it can negatively cause problems due to poor management. This essay will show that economy and employment are benefited, while the environment can be damaged. One of the primary advantages of tourism is it impacts positively economic growth and increases employment rates. When the demand of users goes up, the supply of products and services is also required. Many hotels and attraction places will open positions to serve the customers' needs, resulting in more opportunities for job seekers. Additionally, foreigners tend to pay more for better experiences, leading to higher incomes. For example, the dominant source of income in Thailand is from the tourist industry. To satisfy more than 30 million travellers, the nation must hire more employees, contributing directly to its better finances. On the other hand, environmental issues will be key drawbacks. Regarding higher tourists, more resources are consumed, especially energy. The more energy used in vehicles, the higher level of carbon dioxide emission. Moreover, if travellers leave their garbage and do not follow instructions, natural scenery will be destroyed. For instance, many beaches have to close for a certain period in order to recover from the damage from tourists. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the tourist industry generates a great number of income for many regions and it impacts positively nations' economic growth and employment. However, without proper policies, tourism can be a cause of downsides as well. If there are no controls, the environment can be damaged, leading to serious consequences.