Some people say that in all levels of education from primary to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do I agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that the combination of theories and practicals prepares an individual adequately for the job market. A number of people often argue that an extensive amount of time is spent acquiring theoretical knowledge rather than practical skills at all stages of learning.I strongly agree with the statement because of the lack of practical centres and the structure of examinations in institutions. To begin with, the different levels of education in my country Ghana, for example, lack skills laboratories and practical training centres. A lot of time is spent teaching on the board memorizing a course and less on the actual practice of it. A survey conducted in most secondary and tertiary institutions in Ghana reported no or outmoded practical laboratories for students. In addition, there are no funds from the government allocated to put up vocational and demonstration labs in universities. Furthermore, examinations in primary schools through to the tertiaries are conducted theoretically rather than through hands-on assessments. For instance, a study carried out on most nursing training schools in Ghana in 2020 proved that their end-of-semester examinations are conducted on a paper basis and computers rather than performing actual tasks in hospitals and health care centres. In conclusion, some people believe that, at all levels of learning, a significant amount of time is used to learn theories rather than gaining practical skills. I strongly concur with this statement because of the lack of facilities in educational institutions for practicals and the nature of assessments conducted in schools.