Some people think that the government should invest money in arts and cultural events, while others believe that the government should spend money on more important things.

A group of people present the view that arts and cultural events are of paramount importance and the government should devote money to such fields. However, others believe that the government should undertake greater responsibilities in other vital problems. I strongly agree with the latter opinion and my reasons will be described in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people reasonably argue that there are many problems nationwide which should be taken seriously. Economic progress plays a vital role in the success of different countries. Therefore, governments are responsible for providing their citizens with a higher standard of living. They have to strive to reduce the cost of living and boost the quality of people ’s lives. Furthermore, nowadays, environmental issues, such as climate change, are global problems that should be addressed by governments. As a result of environmental impacts, many wildlife species are in danger of extinction. This can cause serious problems for the food chain and human beings may face difficulties in providing their food. On the other hand, another group of people claim that arts and cultural events provide a unique learning experience for all walks of life. They firmly insist that governments should spend more money on these sectors to attract people ’s attention to them. However, I do not find this argument convincing as many developing countries encounter a wide variety of more important problems. For example, in some African countries, most people find it difficult to meet their daily basic needs such as food, clean drinking water and even appropriate shelters. Consequently, their governments should allocate their budgets to these sectors. In conclusion, in my view, governments should prioritize their problems and tackle them. Environmental issues and economic progress are both of significant importance worldwide. Moreover, poor countries should pay more attention to their citizens’ needs as opposed to arts and cultural events.