Some people agree that advertisements are useful for TV viewers, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a few individuals are of the opinion that commercials are beneficial for TV viewers, others do not agree. Although watching TV ads helps consumers to make better-informed purchasing decisions, I believe that ads can be persuasive and repelling. On the one hand, commercials can be useful for TV viewers because these help individuals to know about products and services. This is because when a product is featured on the TV, it enables people to know about the usage, benefits or drawbacks of a particular product, and, as a result, this supports people in making the right decision for their choices. In India, for example, when a new medicine advertisement in terms of its treatment is shown on television, it influences people to buy it. However, I feel that there is a lot of information on the internet these days that people hardly need to watch TV commercials. On the other hand, there are those who opposed TV advertisements because they can be quite intrusive. This is to say, having a lot of advertisements on the screen can lead to an emotional appeal and compelling techniques which persuade people to buy products and services even if they do not need them. Therefore, this results in excessive consumerism and wastage of resources. For instance, KFC, a favourite food outlet for children, entices children by featuring their hamburgers on the screen. Therefore, I think that TV ads are quite repelling rather than captivating. In conclusion, although TV ads support viewers to make a better decision when it comes to purchasing goods and services, I am of the opinion that these ads are far too intrusive and annoying for those who watch TV.