Computers have made the world a better place to live in. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, computers have been a constant presence in everyday life. Someone could argue this is due to the benefits that computers gave to society and I agree with this view. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter and the opinion will be given. It is undoubtedly true that the spread of electronic device usage has caused some harm to society, especially to younger generations. Firstly, people nowadays tend to isolate themselves more, passing their free time using computers, thus creating issues in socialization once they are forced to know and relate with other people. For instance, some studies suggest that children are becoming less and less capable of forming bonds with each other. Furthermore, even if computers can give access to all the knowledge in the world, there has been a spike in misinformation diffusion in the last years, because the internet helped to spread fake news. Given all this, it could be said that computers have a negative impact on the world. On the other hand, the IT revolution has some benefits that cannot be overseen. One of the most important ones, is the improvement in communication, to the point that now it can happen almost instantly, hence permitting the transmission of information in real time. Moreover, with the calculation power of computers, many processes that in the past took great amounts of time, now are far more rapid. For example, data analysis saw great development with the introduction of computers, to the point that now has a fundamental role in society. Finally, thanks to the previously stated features, IT devices improved the efficiency of almost all industries, creating new value and wealth for larger parts of the population and, as a result, improving the living conditions of millions. In conclusion, I think that the benefits of computers have made the world a better place to live. As stated above, certainly there are some issues with their use, but overall the positive sides overweigh them. For all these reasons, it can be said that, even if there is room for improvement, PC use should be encouraged.