The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, safety on our roads has become a hot topic to discuss.we see on the news or encounter in our daily life many driving offences like drunk driving,speeding and not following traffic rules, which result in serious consequences. It is believed that giving harsh penalties to people who commit these offences, is the only way to improve safety. I partially agree with it as proper guidance and training can also help to increase road safety. To begin with, there should be stricter punishments for driving offences like drunk driving, speeding and not following the transport rules. As discipline is the key to running traffic smoothly on roads. If there would no penalties or fines, drivers would take rules and regulations on roads for granted. For example, in Canada, there are fine imposed for not following travel rules as well as there is a demerit of points if someone commits a serious driving offence. Therefore, all these fines and penalties help the authorities to control transportation and safety on roads. On the other hand, people should be able to get proper guidance and training in their learning processes.They should be aware of safe driving skills. For this, drivers should provide with classes, which explain to them how important is to drive safely and follow the transport rules. For instance, in some countries, in extremely high-traffic areas,drivers are provided with extra classes for safe driving which helps them to enhance their driving skills. Thus, information regarding rules and regulations and proper training can also help to drive safely. To conclude, I would say, although stricter punishment is necessary for road safety, proper training and guidance can also play a key role to achieve this.