Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a heated argument, in order to achieve internationall sports events, whether it is necessary to construct the most advanced buildings to train top experts in the sports field. Many countries are deciding to build these kinds of facilities, despite the fact they will become useless once the sport event is finished. This essay will examine both views to prove that it is a negative development. First of all, building an enormous building can be beneficial to their country's economy. It is the case if the income of sports events covers the total amount of money spent to build buildings such as stadiums and other training centres. For example, there is a great example which China hosted a summer Olympic Games in 2008. The official spokesman of the Chinese government revealed statistics that overall earnings during the Olympic game already exceeded the cost of creating a giant stadium which is only used by professional athletes by 4 times. Even after the event, this kind of building became the most popular destination among tourists and people have been keen to take a picture outside of the stadium and which means it is still earning money present day. Second of all, mistakenly calculated investment in specialised buildings can lead to financial crises. it is true that highly costed building become a waste of money if it is designed to use only once. For example, Greece created a number of enormous buildings to organize the summer Olympic games in 2004 and landed a huge amount of money from the EU about 400 billion euros. After the sporting event, the Greece government has forbidden stadiums from civilian usage. Even if normal people enter the centre, they can not use it properly. Therefore, this kind of building lost its economical significance and become a just symbol. As a consequence, Greece faced an economic crisis and have not recovered for the next 15 years. In conclusion, governments must be careful before spending huge amounts of money to build giant buildings for international events. If not, the whole country will suffer from financial crises.