Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars.

It is natural that people demonstrate their love and respect toward their own countries. While some people say that patriotic acts lead to the corruption of international relationships and cause war, other people believe that patriotism plays an important role in preventing them. I generally support the former view for the following reasons. On the one hand, patriotism helps a person in serving the country better by putting the state's interests in front of one's personal interests. Indeed, the priority to protect the life of national people arouses their antagonistic and hostile feelings against other nationalities. For example, when Donald Trump became the president of the U.S., he was determined to isolate himself from global allies which aim to promote peace around the world. This allows the tensions between the U.S. and Russia to increase rapidly due to the lack of support from other nations. As a result, a country will face various obstacles including failing relationships and economic downturns. In fact, U.S. citizens suffer greatly from the rising cost of petrol imported from Russia. On the other hand, in spite of the escalating tensions occurring between different countries, patriotism allows a country to avoid unnecessary conflicts and wars. In other words, governments which are responsible for protecting the life of the people try to make every effort to maximize their benefits. Therefore, patriot leaders will provide peace and comfort to the citizens through continuous negotiation with foreign countries. In addition, a number of weapons and trained armies often prepared by a patriot country are effective ways to demonstrate their strength to deter war. In conclusion, patriot movements increase the tensions between countries, which results in failing relationships and war with other countries on some occasions. However, leaders who put more importance on saving their citizens play an essential role in promoting international cooperation.