”Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.” To what extent do your agree or disagree with this statement?

It can be difficult to live in a country where the language is not your native one. I partially agree with the statement that you could have problems with your moving and I will present the arguments. Firstly, work could be a major problem because society will lose a lot of opportunities through the fact they cannot understand their mistakes or the way in which the system is fluctuating. For example, the population could not have a wide range of work choices and they will avoid working in an environment where socializing is a must. Secondly, travelling is another problem which is stemming that language barrier could have a big impact in people lives. Humans can get lost easily or cannot get the necessary supplies because of the lack of understanding of subway routes or other ways of travelling. For instance, houses in the UK have the same architectural aspect and you cannot distinguish them easily if you are a foreigner. Also, you have a lot of possibilities for travelling and they are not easy to check if you do not know English. ​ Thirdly, and I think the most important argument, we cannot neglect the fact that it could be hard for someone to have a social life. As a consequence, people’s mental health will suffer and they will become depressed or reluctant. As an example, if you do not know the wording you become unsociable and you will feel alone and far away from your dearest. Anyway, if your pathway is to live in a foreign country you should not let anything distract you. It is true that you could have some problems, but also you can gain knowledge, experience or learn a new culture. To conclude, the language barrier can bring difficulties for people, especially when they travel, work or meet others, but in some cases, they can develop their minds and go through new experiences.