The best way to solve the traffic and transportation problem is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

People have many different views about the method which is likely to tackle issues related to traffic and transportation. Many believe to solve these problems is to encourage the public to live in urban areas rather than suburbs or rural areas. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea due to the following reasons. First and foremost, a large number of citizens settling down in big downtown usually lead to traffic congestion. Indeed, streets have tons of vehicles ranging from public transport systems to private ones. As a result, inhabitants of cities always deal with traffic jams in rush hours especially. According to a survey by the International VnExpress newspaper, more than 90% of streets in the large metropolis are overcrowded from 5pm to 7pm on a daily basis. Furthermore, citizens who live in the centre tend to consume private means of transportation including cars and motorbikes apart from buses and express trains. Subsequently, there is a significant growth in air and water pollution due to emissions from vehicles. Consequently, residents are at a higher risk of suffering from serious health problems such as lung cancer and digestive diseases. Therefore, instead of governments recommending everyone inhabits cities, they should enhance the quality of transportation facilities or raise people’s awareness about travelling by public transportation in order to address traffic and transportation problems effectively. In conclusion, although living in urban areas have numerous advantages, it is quite difficult to resolve the traffic and transportation issue due to traffic jams and pollution.