International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time,there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

With globalization, international tourist destinations have benefited tremendously but this comes at the expense of the local environment in the form of environmental degradation. Although some believe that international tourism has a negative impact on the climate, I believe that it is far more advantageous in terms of economic benefits. The environment is one of the main areas which is negatively impacted by international tourists in form of its exploitation. As, many tourist destinations are often visited by foreigners, so for the sake of money these destinations are developed to meet the needs of the travellers which comes at the cost of disturbing the local fauna and flora. Moreover, the travellers usually leave behind their garbage polluting the local sea and beaches and disturbing the local habitat of many fish and other sea creatures. Thus, it is believed that international travel is the leading cause of these negative impacts on the local habitat. International touristry has benefits for the local economy as it is the key to many leading businesses. Hotels, restaurants and cafes are humongous and expanded by an increase in tourism whether it be local or foreign. Furthermore, more tourists mean more domestic and international flights which generate huge capital for the airlines. For instance, international travellers may buy domestic products from the markets which directly affects the local economy by increasing foreign direct investment and it uplifts many local businesses. To conclude, however, the negative outcomes of international tourism are environmental degradation and exploitation, but an increase in foreign direct investment and positive changes in the local economy. Therefore, the positive aspects of tourism outweigh the disadvantages as it is beneficial for the host country.