In some countries, people are spending long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is this positive or negative development?

These days, it is common to see that people are giving more time at their workplace. This is due to the fact that they need higher income and more promotion opportunities, and I firmly believe that this phenomenon is negative since it has more demerits compared to merits. There are several reasons for an individual to devote more time to work. First, everything in this world is developing sharply, so the cost of living is escalating every single day as a result. If people desire to earn enough money to pay their bills, buy their family food, rent a house or invest in their children's education, they may have no choice but work harder. Besides, there are also workers who consider working overtime one of the most important tasks to do if they want to be promoted as the competition between employees becomes more intense than ever in the modern age. For instance, they must work long hours to meet deadlines, participate in various meetings or conferences and even have business trips, but they believe that if they give more time and effort to work efficiently, they will assist their corporation to defeat its rivals and then have a chance to move up the career ladder. However, I am of the opinion that this trend brings about many adverse consequences. To begin with, although extra working time may facilitate one person's quality of life, being under heavy pressure which can cause a bunch of physical and mental illnesses is inevitable. For example, a successful businessman may have many serious conditions such as heart disease, stomach ulcer, diabetes and depression just because he works too hard. In addition, more time at work means less time left for other relationships, like family and friends. In other words, the pros of working extra hours can be achieved but at the cost of deteriorating our health, losing a balanced lifestyle and facing isolation in the future. In conclusion, working overtime is understandable because of some reasons. Nevertheless, I hold a conviction that this is prone to a negative tendency rather than a positive one.