Major cities have become too big and overcrowded. Why is this the case? What are some possible solutions to this?

In many modern countries, the ever-expanding city region and overcrowded living environment have aroused much public concern. This essay attempts to look into the possible reasons and provide some feasible solutions. To begin with, urbanization would be the culprit for this undesirable trend. Generally speaking, migrating from rural to urban areas is obviously accompanied by access to high-quality education resources, decent salaries and better social connections. In this light, an increasing number of teenagers living in the countryside are captivated by the aura of big cities and are more likely to resettle themselves in the city centres, resulting in a population explosion in the urban areas. Additionally, globalization has already opened up more opportunities for foreigners to land a job in other nations and metropolises are always at the top of their lists; some birth policies also bring about a larger newly-born population. That social progress further exacerbates the existing problems in the population. Therefore, in order to accommodate ever-increasing residents, municipal authorities have no option but to enlarge the city ’s blueprint to improve its capacity. Considering those potential reasons for this tough issue, some effective measures should be fully taken. One possible approach is that governments are supposed to transfer the traditional layout from centralization to decentralization. To illustrate, considerable pillar industries could be relocated to the outskirts of the city, maximally reducing the immigrant workers from rural areas and encouraging employees to work and reside in the suburbs. Besides, unless implementing more modifications, the city would not be able to contain the rising population. For instance, ranging from multi-lane roads to multi-storey apartments, those improvements in real estate and traffic could optimize the city ’s construction and offer more room for both locals and immigrants. In conclusion, the reasons why a city has become more crowded and expanding are multiple, and it is crucial for the government to take positive actions to address it.