Some people believe that excelling in school is a crucial apparatus for measuring intelligence. Do you think there is a correlation between grades and intelligence? How would you define intelligence?

While many people assume that being exceptionally intelligent at school is an important criterion to assess one's intelligence, other people object that since they point out that there is no relevance between scores at school and intelligence. In my opinion, I believe that intelligence can be expressed in many different aspects. Hence, I opine that the grading system expresses a weakness to cover the variety of students’ abilities. The essay will discuss both of these ideas. First of all, brilliance can be expressed in many situations and can be in any form. Specifically, a student can be productive and creative in dealing with their problems in real life, and it does not have to be how they behave in class. For instance, soft skills are an important skills in reality, however, these skills are hardly included in the tests taken by students. In addition, sympathy is also considered a form of acumen since understanding people’s feelings requires being extremely insightful. Secondly, the grading system nowadays is not suitable for assessing the different forms of perception. Because the knowledge taught at school is controlled in a limited domain. Thus, the abilities of students in other fields can not be expressed in the grades achieved by the youth. As a result, many universities use additional methods to evaluate students’ aptitude. For instance, these methods include evaluating extracurricular activities, letters of recommendation. Furthermore, since the way of evaluating students’ abilities is severely static, students these days can have many ways to deal with the given tests to achieve high scores without being intelligent. In conclusion, the cognitive abilities of a person can be expressed through many aspects. Hence, the traditional grading system is not suitable to cover all kinds of intelligence anymore.