Nowadays, many people spend less and less time at home. What are the *causes* of this? What are the *effects* of this on individuals and on the society?"

These days, it is common to see that more and more individuals are spending less time at home. This phenomenon may be explained by some reasons, and it obviously has several influences on each person as well as society as a whole. There are a bunch of causes why people nowadays do not spend much time at home. To begin with, people are so busy with their hectic schedules. While adults have to devote their time and effort to work harder for higher income or promotion opportunities, children who are students have so many classes at school and attend a lot of extra classes. For example, after 8 hours at the workplace, employees may need to meet their clients or participate in important conferences, whereas kids usually go to English centres or study with their tutors at night after school. In addition, when people have spare time, they are interested in hanging out and travelling with friends. This also means they do not stay at home regularly. From my perspective, this tendency may have a lot of effects on individuals and society. First, in terms of each individual, it is prone to be harmful to spend less time staying at home as they may lose the connection with family members. For instance, parents and children may not share mealtime or watch TV together anymore, which are literally essential for a close-knit family, but frequently have lunch with colleagues or play with classmates. However, this trend may bring about some good impacts on our community due to the fact that individuals need to spend more money when they go out, such as to eat at a restaurant, buy a cup of coffee or stay at a hotel during their vacation. Apparently, this could help a country's economy thrive considerably. In conclusion, a lot of people are giving less and less time at home. This is due to the fact that adults must work, children must study and their free time is usually spent hanging out. Although this may be beneficial for the public, each person's relationship with their family may be adversely affected.