8. Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, communication among individuals plays a crucial role in society’s life. However, there is a debate about which method is more favored.Some believe that spoken language is more efficient compared to the written one while others claim that textual communication is superior. I strongly agree with the former view as the amount of information would be easily understanded with the emotional expressions. Firstly, verbal communication involves eye contacts and facial expressions, making the speech easier for listeners to concentrate as well as understand the information. In other words, individuals in direct interaction could both listen to others and identify their emotions. As a survey conducted in a university in America, 80% of students revealed that they may comprehend the content shown in a speech rather than the written one. People in a talk can gain and share information in different ways such as body language, etc. therefore, spoken language is more preferable. Secondly, there is a lesser chance of ambiguity in oral language than in the written one. This is because the listeners tend to clear their misconceptions which can help them avoid misunderstanding. For example, some surveys conducted in America revealed that 80% of teachers use spoken language as a primary teaching method. By that way, children can freely have questions in order to clearly understand the lesson while in textual tasks, they would be inactive, developing the wrong concepts and ideas leading to poor grades. In conclusion, I am in favor of the view that spoken interaction is more important than written handouts since individuals can fully gain the information through various means such as facial expressions, body language, etc.