Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.  Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, it has become a common view that children hold their smartphones everywhere, such as on dinner tabels, at schools and even on the streets. While there are many reasons for children to become addicted to their phones, I believe it is a negative development in the society and should be attached more importance on. There are various causes for young generation's phone addiction. First of all, children like to make phone calls and send text messages to their friends using smartphones, especially teenagers. Kids in their teenage years love to keep in touch with their freinds and exchange information, in order to stay close to their friend circles. Secondly, there are so many things can be done using smartphones, such as playing mobile games, watch short videos or movies and browse any information people are interested in. Mobile phones have become an essential part of people's daily lives. Finally, children sometimes use smartphones to escape from their responsibilities, for example, doing homework or exercise. Although the prevailing of smartphones among children seems to be an unstoppable trend, I still believe this will bring harm to young people, and schools and parents need to take more measures on the phenomenon. It is obvioust to see that the imformation and applications on smartphones are to provide short-term excitement instead of really useful knowledge. The fun of scrolling never-ending short videos or keep winning scores in mobile games is hard to resist for young children, which will keep them from focusing on their studies. Additionally, spending too much time on mobile phones will cause health problems for children, such as obesity. What's more, phone addication will also prevent kids from making social connections and communicating with their peers, which are key skills for them when they grow up. In conclusion, my opinion on children's growing addication to smartphones is negative, and I encourage more steps be taken by the society.