In many countries, young people are choosing to study or work abroad. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many youngsters prefer to study also work abroad. While this approach may have some downsides, I strongly believe that it opens a lot of opportunities to young people. On the one hand, there might be several disadvantages of going to study or work abroad, but the major drawback is homesickness. To clarify, when young people go to a foreign country, they might struggle with language barriers, food, traditions, and a new lifestyle. All of them can lead to homesickness. Another negative point is financial problems. It is no secret that studying abroad costs a lot, they need to pay for their tuition, accommodation as well as healthcare. As a result, they may need a loan or work part-time, which increases pressure. For these reasons, it can be a negative approach to study and work abroad. Despite these drawbacks, the advantages of working and studying abroad are numerous. Firstly, it opens a lot of doors to youngsters, as they can be taught by intelligent professors with international experience. For example, if they study at Oxford, they can gain knowledge from professors who are highly skilled in their subject and obtain a diploma that increases their chances of getting a great job. The second benefit is that they can earn a large amount of money if they have a well-paid job. For instance, working at Google company gives them a large sum of minimum $100 000 and maximum $600 000. As a consequence, they can offer them to travel around the world 3 or 4 times every year and a lot of things like that. Therefore, for these reasons, it can be highly beneficial. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages like homesickness, personally I think that the benefits clearly outweigh them as they can gain knowledge from smart teachers, a great salary and travel abroad.