Some people agree with spending lot of money on large wedding while others thinks it is a waste of money. What is your opinion?

Marriage is always a beautiful event to happen in a person's life and it is a one-day event. Some people like to be big spenders and others think it's not that worthwhile. In my opinion, we should not spendthrift. Arguments for agreement and a counterargument are explained below in detail along with the conclusion. Firstly, a Wedding is the biggest event that happens in anyone's life, where relatives and friends are invited to bless the couple and grace the occasion. Since it is a one-time party some spend an exorbitant amount and create envy among the guest. This creates a bad trendsetting in society and pushes others as well to do so. In addition, these behaviours when not planned properly will make the respective person bankrupt in future. As a result some might be pushed to take loans from the bank for all their fundamentals like children's education,and medical emergencies, I know a person who went to this level. Secondly, There are many food wastages in these marriages which can be avoided. For instance, I know a person who tied the knot recently and he invited 1000 people to his reception on a weekday but many did not turn up since it was a busy day. So there was a huge food left out and they dumped it into the garbage. In contrast, another person had a very simple nuptial event with fewer invitees, was well organized and there were no leftovers. To conclude, I am not telling them to be stingy but to spend wisely without taking a toll on their bank balances.