Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy for them. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, pets have been close friends in many families. While some people argue that owning pets causes danger to children, I believe the benefits it brings outweigh the drawbacks. Undoubtedly, pets may put children in a dangerous or unhealthy situation if adults do not pay enough attention to them. For example, some dogs are more aggressive and may bite the youth when they feel offended. This usually happens when the child is new to a dog and does not know how to interact with it properly. Even if not being bitten, a child could be scared when dogs bark loudly. In addition, if pets are not kept clean, bacteria could easily be found in their furs. Children, whose immune systems are not well-developed, get affected easily. Despite the downsides of letting children stay close to animals, there are several merits of owning a pet. First, pets can serve as great companions. When parents are occupied by their work and have little to spend with their kids, animals can play with youngsters. As pets are loyal, sometimes they even become their best friends. Moreover, keeping a pet is an opportunity for the youth to build a sense of responsibility. Take dogs for instance. They have to walk them regularly and feed them three times a day. This not only teaches them to take care of others' needs but also develops their time concept. It would significantly enhance a child's interpersonal skills. In conclusion, it is inevitable some harm a pet can cause to children, but I believe, as long as appropriate precautions are taken, the companionship and learning opportunities can positively help a child's growth.