Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this situation?

In the modern world sports have become an important issue and a healthy lifestyle is in fashion now whereas the number of people who simply walk has reduced a lot. What makes walking so unpopular is the convenience of cars and the lack of time, and to tackle this situation public should change their attitude towards using transport and improve their time-management habits. Firstly, an average modern family can easily afford to buy a car which makes walking unnecessary. It is much more convenient to use a private vehicle to get to various destinations, than just going there on foot. For instance, if our grandparents used to go shopping on foot, we prefer driving to the nearest mall or supermarket. Fortunately, the comfort that motor vehicles suggest can be easily replaced by the benefits of physical activity such as walking. Secondly, we live quicker than previous generations, we are constantly in a hurry, which makes strolling and roaming around the city just impossible timewise. For example, as the working day starts quite early and many employees don't usually live near their workplaces, using public transport or cars rather than going to work becomes preferable. Changing your daily routine can be a great option though - a different schedule can leave spare time for strolling. To sum up, of course, walking is not as beneficial for health as many different sports activities, though it can contribute to a person's staying in shape as it is an affordable activity that doesn't require any special equipment, can be done almost every day and everywhere, and if more people remember this, it can become quite popular again.