Some people think the government should decide which subject students should study at university, while others think students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays there is an ongoing debate among a few people that whether the higher authorities or the pupils should decide to opt for the course of their study in their higher education. I strongly believe that the legislators are the best decision-makers for the benefit of the students. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and I will support my view with examples. On one hand, lawmakers are best at finding out the demand of a particular subject through their cabinet ministers. They can be better at finding out the Job prospects for the future for various disciplines of studies. Moreover, they can create a balance between Demand and Supply in the coming future years. This opportunity can be leveraged with the help of higher education providers by making their course curricula according to the need of the nation in the future. For Instance, if a country wants to open more opportunities in the science and technology field then they can make more subjects such as robotics, Aeronautical science and other scientific subjects compulsory for the pupils to study. In other words, the government may be able to create a future task force according to the needs of a nation in a specific area. On the other hand, letting pupils opt for the subject which they find interesting can give freedom to study the subject passionately. However, this can lead to pupils choosing a subject which does not have bright job prospects in the future. As a result, they might find the subject interesting to study but they may not be able to build a career around it. For example, in a recent survey by the Times,newspaper the forecast for Journalism jobs in the next 10 years would be declining because of the oversupply of people that are working in the sector in India. This can create unemployment for that pupil in the future. In conclusion, although giving the pupil the freedom to opt for the subject in his higher studies may make them study it passionately, however, I strongly believe that this can create unemployment by choosing the wrong field of study and the government are better positioned to create job prospects in the future by deciding which course a student should study in their university.