Some people think that the main purpose of schools is turn to children good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While the general role of the school is widely recognized, the deeper debate on education philosophy still concerns its primary focus. Some people argue that school is supposed to produce useful citizens and workers for the future instead of catering for individuals’ benefits. I totally agree with this viewpoint. To begin with, school, being the mainstay of education, is tasked with cultivating a well-behaved and well-informed population. As such, it should prioritise equipping students with relevant knowledge, skills and charisma to thrive in their future careers and, more broadly, society. Since children spend the first formative years at school, they should be advised on how to tell right from wrong and perceive and react to the outside world properly. Put differently, school plays a key role in instilling discipline, morality and integrity in the future generations of the population and workforce. Moreover, schools are to ensure proper training to enable children to succeed in the job market. In the end, education helps people make a living later in life, while it also provides manpower for economic growth. How well students can integrate into and contribute to society is clear evidence of schools’ success. In contrast, benefiting students as individuals should not be the primary function of school. This is because an individualistic approach does not serve, if not distorts, the education orientation of the school. Heavy emphasis on individual needs can lead students to care solely about self-interest, whereby they become self-centred and selfish. The promotion of individuality can colour education, turning this sacred work into a commercial commodity which students buy for their personal use and schools sell for profit. In those cases, schools would fail to realize their initial educational mission. In conclusion, the priority of school should be turning children into good citizens and workers instead of serving individuals’ needs since it helps construct a functioning and harmonious society where nothing else is built upon.