Many scientists believe that seeking out life by sending messages into space is a good idea while others feel that it is dangerous. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Scientists have different views about attempts to communicate with space, some of them think it's preferable, while others are pessimistic about it. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and share my opinion. On the one hand, scientists who support sending messages to space believe that it enhances our scientific knowledge. While exploring other civilisations, we have the opportunity to learn more about biology, evolution, and what's necessary for life. Therefore, it could provide us with insights into how life on earth evolved and whether similar processes occur elsewhere in the universe. For example, in the Atacama Desert in Chile, one of the driest places on Earth, scientists have found bacteria that can survive with very little water. This helps us understand how life might survive on arid planets like Mars. This method is beneficial because it helps us understand our planet through exploring space. On the other hand, other scientists don't recommend this because the intentions of other civilisations are unknown. We have no way of knowing the intentions or nature of extraterrestrial civilisations that may receive our massages. They could be friendly, natural, or hostile. Therefore, contacting a civilisation with hostile intentions could pose a significant risk to humanity. To illustrate, physicist Stephen Hawking cautioned against actively reaching out to extraterrestrial civilizations. He compared potential contact with aliens to the arrival of Europeans in the Americas, which had devastating consequences for the indigenous populations. In conclusion, although the unknown nature of different civilisations is risky, I believe that reaching out for extraterrestrial civilisations is necessary and beneficial for our knowledge and advancement.