In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Even though agricultural technologies have achieved great progress in recent years, famine is still a huge challenge to be tackled in many places. In my opinion, there are a few factors that are contributing to this problem, with potential solutions available to solve them. Firstly, despite the improvement in the efficiency of food production, the world’s population is also expanding, offsetting the effects of technological achievements. Food availability on average might not have increased so much as people imagine. This issue is made even worse by the acts of excessively wasting food, and throwing away unconsumed meals or products for nothing. The ‘garbage’ that is discarded by these people could be invaluable for others who are in hunger. Another reason why there are still cases of food shortages is the imbalances of natural resources which are essential for planting crops, such as fertile farming land and water resources. This can lead to the redundancy of agricultural products in some places, while leaving inadequacy in others. There can be more than one answer to the question ‘how we can better feed our people’. The most imminent action that we can take is to educate the public about the importance and value of food, and that every person should take the social responsibility of not wasting it. Scientific researchers should focus more on developing crops that are more productive and resistant to harsh climates, so that farmers can make the best use of the land resources. There can also be more cooperation and trading initiatives among countries, where excessive food products can be exchanged for other goods from countries that are short of food supply. To summarize, a lot of people are still suffering from hunger because of various reasons, and there are actions that can be taken to resolve them.