Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view??

Nowadays, a number of folks have some reservations about the internet creating new communication possibilities globally, they believe everyone should be bothered about the consequence this has on social interaction. I totally agree with this view, because social media leads people into isolation. To begin, The drawbacks caused by social media to the current generation are no doubt very obvious, especially for teenagers.A number of teens become very isolated as a consequence of spending so much time on the internet. That is to say that, they prefer communicating with people on the internet from the comfort of their bed, instead of face-to-face interaction. This approach, however, has caused some serious damage to the communities. A recent study has proven that an increasing number of teenagers lack confidence in real life, because of the time they spend on the internet. For example, my friend john is famous on the internet with over 200 friends, but he has a nervous personality when we hang out. On the other hand, Social media provides the possibility to meet people from other countries. This helps to build a strong relationship that can in turn be beneficial. In other words, social media creates opportunities for people all over the world. People tend to get job opportunities and more knowledge, just by communicating with the right people. Currently, some companies post job ads on social media just to get the right person for the position. This is an advanced development because it makes it easier for people to get job opportunities not minding their location. Take, for example, people from Nigeria are acquiring jobs overseas by just communicating with company owners on social media. In conclusion, social media is advancing every day with the purpose of bringing people together. However, I think other measures should be introduced to encourage physical ways of communication.