Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some children are on their smartphones for hours each day. This happens because there are lots of entertainment options on their phones. In my opinion, this is a negative development due to the detrimental effects, such as addiction. Entertainments offered on smartphones are so tempting. The internet makes it possible for users to find everything that amuses them. Nowadays, going on phones is not limited to communicating with others through text messaging applications or phone calls, which means that children can not only have chats with their friends but also play games and stream movies. For instance, the University of South Carolina conducted research with children as respondents and the main objective was to find out what activities they mostly do on their smartphones. The research showed that playing online mobile games had the biggest ratio with 40% of the total screen time, followed by watching movies at 35%, and the rest spent on messaging applications for communication purposes. However, with the convenience provided, there are negative impacts, one of which is addiction. When smartphones are part of children ’s daily essentials, there is a high possibility that it will be hard for them to be separated from the devices. If they ever put aside their phones, they would feel like they have nothing else to do and their minds would immediately wander back to their phones. Research conducted by Kaplan University on children with screen time exceeding six hours a day proved that 85% of the respondents answered ‘no’ when asked whether they are able to be away from the phone for an hour or not. Most of the respondents also showed uneasy gestures when their phones were taken away from them. In conclusion, the overuse of smartphones by children is due to the various choices of entertainment provided on smartphones. Furthermore, I view this as a negative development because of the drawbacks that may occur, for example, addiction.