Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

In general, the death penalty has been the most drastic punishment for many years in many countries. There are those who advocate for the death penalty for those guilty persons of violent crimes and those who believe that capital punishment is not an acceptable practice in modern society. To begin with, advocates of death penalty for violent offenders often support the idea that, it is a just punishment for those who have committed the most horrible acts. Furthermore, they argue that it serves as a discouragement for others who might commit such acts, it prevents major crimes. In addition, it restores equilibrium of justice and lessens expenses on maintenance of prisoners. For example, in ancient times, people were gathered in the centre of their town to see how a criminal was killed, with the purpose that others will understand not to commit crimes anymore. On the other hand, opponents of death penalty argue that it is an inhumane punishment and it is unbearable. It is also argued that the death penalty is expensive and it does not necessarily reduce the crime rate. In my opinion, death penalty should not be accepted in contemporary society. Thus, other forms of punishment should be explored. For example, life imprisonment would allow to save the money, because it is cheaper to keep an offender in prison than to kill him and also protect innocent individuals from other crimes. To conclude, I strongly believe that, death penalty should be excluded from prisoners’ punishments, because no one has the right to kill other human and even,criminals, deserve a second chance and innocent people can be killed because of unfair sentences.