The growing number of overweight is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a debate regarding the overweight issue in society has emerged. In particular, some people argue that incremented physical education lessons are the best solution to the problem. I partially agree with this view, because it surely can be helpful, but at the same time other measures should be applied too. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that more physical education classes could reduce the number of overweight people. Firstly, a sports culture could be promoted through lessons and sports is one of the best remedies to increased weight. For instance, some studies suggest that the percentage of fat children that practice a sport as a hobby is less than half of the percentage seen in inactive ones. Furthermore, lessons could be focused on calorie-burning exercises to directly tackle the issue. Given these reasons, it is not entirely inaccurate to say that enhanced physical education hours in school could be the best way to deal with the problem. On the other hand, it should be noted that being overweight is not only physically related but also mentally. In fact, many obese people have bad diets and adapting to better diets can be mentally difficult. For example, research suggests that an alimentary education is as important as physical activity in remaining fit and for this more investments in this aspect are necessary. Moreover, in schools, some children with weight problems could feel excluded and inadequate if too many physical education lessons are imposed, worsening their mental condition and thus risking to be detrimental more than beneficial. In conclusion, I think that enhanced physical education classes is among the possible solution, but not the best one. As stated above, being overweight is a complex condition, hence more actions should be taken to resolve it, such as better information campaigns on alimentary disturbs. In addition to that, giving too much importance only to the physical side could lead to some form of discrimination against overweight people.