Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, people have different views on how governments should invest in terms of sports. There are some good arguments in favour of the view that they should pay more attention to public health instead of investing in professional athletes, and I personally agree with this notion. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why training athletes for medals is important for a nation. Firstly, a winning medal could serve as a means to build the reputation of a country and unite its people. For instance, in Argentina, there is a prestigious football player named Messi who has positively influenced not only domestically but also internationally. In addition, athletes after winning a medal always come with a noticeable amount of money. This allows the national economy to be improved thanks to their taxes paid after winning. On the other hand, apart from the practical reasons expressed above, I maintain that governments should prioritize creating more programmes to urge their citizens to stay more active. Firstly, encouraging individuals to do more exercise helps increase their life span. This enables a nation to have more human resources, which solves the problem regarding the lack of employees. Secondly, healthy individuals can reduce the heavy workload of hospitals, which motivates authorities around the world to come up with suitable initiatives. For instance, in America, the government implements a policy that for each hundred meters that a resident walk, they would earn a hundred dollars. In conclusion, while there are certain reasons why investing in professional athletes could bring substantial benefits to a country as a whole, it seems to me that spending money to help inhabitants stay active is more important.