Some people think that development of technology helps to reduce crime, while others think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that modern technologies make the world a safer place, while others claim that they stimulate crimes instead. As for me, I fully support the idea that despite having some drawbacks, Internet technologies and various devices help to improve safety. Nowadays electronic devices keep track of people’s actions online and in real life. Whilst some complain about the lack of privacy, it is clear that this equipment makes it much easier to find offenders shortly after a crime is committed. For example, CCTV cameras in public places and around the city are used by the police to identify suspects and deter other people from illegal actions. If criminals know that they may be caught easily, they are less likely to take risks. This way technologies not only assist in solving crimes, but also prevent them from happening. On the other hand, online services became an easy way for frauds to deceive people. Social networks and marketplaces are used by offenders with fake accounts to persuade users to purchase a fictional product or to get access to banking details. For instance, if one wants to buy something second-hand online, they are often asked to pay a deposit, after which the seller disappears. However, it is possible to avoid this situation by being extremely cautious and asking for guarantees when having financial matters on the Internet. To conclude, whilst there definitely are many cases of online crimes, technologies, such as the Internet, cameras, tracking apps and devices, have much more of a positive influence on global safety.