The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past decade we witnessed a significant change in how our society communicates. The rise of the internet followed by social media undeniably changed our world. Today experts and non-experts alike hold different views regarding the possible impact of this change on the human population of the globe. Some are glad about this development, while others are saying we must consider the negative impact. Supports of this development say that it became easier to communicate at a far distances, people become more interconnected. It is easier for instance to make friends in faraway countries and bring people together. Academics and experts who support this social- media rise, also mention that today, we have more access to new information sources like, videos and social media channels that in turn increase our general knowledge and provide fertile ground to share ideas and notions.Those supporting claims make people accept this change as a welcomed change for the better. On the other side of the spectrum, stand people who say that this development happened too fast without giving it too much thought. In just one generation the world radically changed. For,example experts claim that kids today have fewer face-to-face interactions with other children and that this lack of interaction will harm them. It is also well known that social media is a hard place to regulate and might promote bad behaviour and support ideas which contradict basic values. Videos of people humiliating or offending other humans are easy to be found on social media. Those cases make people avoid social media or just keep their time spent there to the minimum. Eventually to conclude this subject, in my opinion we need to find the balance between both views, since both of them have the right ideas behind them. Social media is a true blessing in some way, but we also must enforce better regulations, and make sure social media won't make people avoid physical contact.