An international language would remove one of the main differences which separates people of different nationalities and this would lead to greater international understanding and co-operation. There should be one international language which everyone agrees to learn and speak. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Languages have been playing a crucial role in communication. There are various languages being spoken around the world which sometimes makes translation difficult, therefore, people are believing that an international language should be created and individuals need to master it. I partially agree with this viewpoint and argue that It should not be mandatory for everyone. There is no doubt that a universal linguistic system could be beneficial to the global society. First and foremost, It could lessen the communication barrier between different nationalities. For example, If a person travels abroad, he would no longer have to worry about bringing a translation tool which could take money and time to learn. In this way, he could have the most authentic experience of enjoying other cultures. It is also worth highlighting that a common linguistic system could prevent potential cultural hegemony. For instance, the prevalence of English established by colonialism has caused a massive cultural loss for humanity. This is due to the fact that many underdeveloped countries were forced to adopt English during colonial times. Thus, If there are more people choosing to speak a new language instead of English, worldwide nations could better preserve their heritage. Despite many advantages, I disagree with the point that everyone should learn this new language. People should have the freedom to decide whether they would like to speak their mother tongue or an international language. Although a universal linguistic system could help with cultural loss, when it is enforced upon everyone, It can actually be detrimental to the preservation of civilization as nobody would be able to pass down his native language. The best way forward is to make learning an international language optional for the general public and to advocate for citizens to become bilingual. To conclude, an international would certainly solve contemporary problems in regard to cultural discrimination. Meanwhile, It is a double-edged sword that can further accelerate cultural loss. Hence, governments around the world should make comprehensive plans around it.