Most countries want to improve standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is evident that the improvement in countries’ economies can bring a good quality of life to their citizens. Nevertheless, it can lead to the loss of human values such as some people might be driven only by money. In my opinion, I believe although it has some negative impact, economic growth by and large benefits societies greatly in many aspects. It is widely acknowledged that citizens in rich countries tend to have a better standard of living than third-world countries. For this reason, many nations mainly focus on developing their economy in order to improve people’s lives. To illustrate, as a consequence of the growth in the Thai economy from tourism, the government has a sufficient budget for improving basic infrastructures such as education, healthcare and public transport system. It is obvious that these improvements provide convenience and a healthier lifestyle for individuals. It seems to me that economic development is beneficial to the whole country. However, it is often argued that some human qualities such as compassion and kindness are devalued during the development of an economy. What I mean by this is industrialization usually leads to consumerism which encourages people to spend more and as a result, they are likely to be self-serving and money-oriented. For instance, in order to earn a sufficient income to serve a lavish lifestyle such as an expensive car or exorbitant meals, they ought to work harder and might become self-seeking workaholic. Even though I have some sympathy for this viewpoint, I would maintain that the advantages of economic expansion are greater than the drawbacks. In conclusion, although many believe that economic development has several negative effects, I would argue that it generally brings many benefits to society which surpass those disadvantages.