Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There have been different views about how crime should be punished. Some people believe that it is better to have a fixed punishment for all kinds of crimes. Some others, including me, claim that each crime should have a different punishment as it may commit under different circumstances and with different intentions. Fixed punishment, on the one hand, can prevent any corruption within the legal system, which can affect the punishment given. In a corrupt system, money and influence may decide which cases are prioritized or dismissed. As a result, perpetrators may get away unpunished while victims are left with no answer or justice. In addition, fix punishment can be more deterrent when people know the exact consequences because more people are ignorant about the type of crimes they commit and their results. Nonetheless, all of those can be reduced by training. For example, judicial personnel should be adequately trained and receive fair salaries to make them less vulnerable to bribery. Moreover, the government can set up some programs to increase society's awareness of the justice system. On the other hand, not all crimes are committed under the same circumstances. Punishment should fit the crime and some factors like poverty, mental health, and intention should be taken into account. For example, a person committing a violent felony with a clear intention should not receive the same punishment as someone acting in self-defence. Furthermore, the flexibility of punishment may decrease the rate of violent crime, as a violent felony does not receive the same punishment as a petty crime. For instance, drug traffickers may bring more drugs if there is a fixed punishment because they believe that they will receive the same punishment for each amount of drug, so they prefer to bring more. In conclusion, although fixed punishment has many benefits, such as preventing corruption, or it may be more deterrent, I believe that it is better to judge each crime by its circumstances, which may decrease the rate of violent crimes.