Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

It is said that the distribution of food around the world is not equal. Some argue that nations had better produce their own food rather than import that. I believe although it can be challenging to produce every kind of food within the boundaries, I completely agree with this idea and I believe it could be very beneficial. When countries produce their own food, they become politically independent and they can stand on their own foot. Iraq, for example, is a country of nearly 30 million and almost all of its food is imported from Iran and Turkey. Consequently, it has made Iraq very dependent on these two countries since it has to pay a big amount of its revenue to these countries; as a result, in case of any political conflict with these two neighbouring countries; Iraq would be politically in a weaker position,owing to the fact that they are food supplier. Additionally, for many, countries it is economically beneficial to become self-sufficient in food production. In many,cases money which would be spent on supplying food from other nations, could have been invested in other infrastructures such as education and industry. For instance, consider a country which tries to mostly live on food which is produced locally. It is clear that it helps them to save more money and make use of it to invest in their own country such as developing agricultural infrastructure. Nevertheless, some believe it is impossible to become independent in food production, I believe thanks to different technologies such as greenhouses it is now possible to produce any food in any place and ecosystem. In conclusion, importing food as little as possible is very welcoming for any country and it would result in more financial and political independence.