It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society

In recent times, the use of social media has increased significantly due to the advancement of technology and in,turn it has affected our day-to-day activities and our lives generally. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of the influence of the news. The presence of the media in our society has benefited the community by providing people with up-to-date information needed in all sectors of life. For Instance, a piece of information about a foreseen scarcity of water and the necessary measures put in place to combat the scarcity. This information cut across every sector of the community and media helps to ensure the proper dissemination of this information. Also, the media has provided various channels for relieving stress such as comedies, games, chatting sites, movies, and radio and television programs that can easily be assessed by members of society. On the other hand, the media has also exposed the members of the community to harm in cases where wrong information was disseminated by the media leading to chaos. For example, there have been reported cases of community members fighting and killing themselves because of false information about a tribal argument occurring in a nearby town which was misunderstood. In addition, people often get carried away when watching things on social media and this has led to various forms of domestic and road accidents. For example, someone watching something on social media on his or her phone while walking on the road but didn't pay attention to the traffic light and was hit by a car. In conclusion, a media -rich society has various advantages for members of the community by providing them with the information needed at various points in time. However, caution should be taken when using our devices and members of the community should avoid disseminating Wrong or unconfirmed information via social media.