In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? (* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is ‘to play truant from school.’)

Truancy is typically when a child skips school and goes elsewhere with the knowledge of the parents. The increasing rate of truancy in most countries has become a challenge for parents and educators. I will explain why a minor plays truant from school and the effect of the truancy on the child and community. Firstly, peer pressure is one of the main reasons why minors play truant from school, however most children copy blindly or easily influenced by bad behavior of their peers. For instance, in Ghana, children are influenced by their friends who skip school after sharing their experiences in game centers etc. In addition, one other reason is the school's lack of responsibility to check attendance in order to call the child’s guardian for an answer why the minor is absent. For Example, most schools in Ghana do not call parents to find out why the child skipped school although the attendance proves the student did not attend class. To begin with, truancy can have a massive impact on young people's lives, therefore ruining children's education which results in school drop out. Minors who dropout of school usually engage themselves in criminal activities such as theft. For example, the majority of convicted criminals in Ghana are school dropouts. Furthermore, most countries in Africa suffer a great deal of consequences when truancy is on a rise. As young people are engaged in criminal activities such as theft and drugs as a result of school dropout, the country invests a great amount of money on healthcare and the justice system rather than investing in infrastructures. For instance, the government spends so much on rehab and medication to help reform drug addicts. In conclusion, truancy has raised much concern among parents and educators, nonetheless, it has a great negative effect on both the minor and community as a whole. Overall, peer pressure and school lacking accountability has led to truancy which has increased the country’s expenditure and crime among children.