Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, all age people are so addicted to social media, that it has become a huge part of our life. Many of us feel it has made a significant impact on our community and on us as individuals. I firmly agree with the above statement and in this essay, we will see how the social network has impacted our society and us, and thus come up with a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, as we mentioned before, social media is a big part of our life, such as Facebook, Instagram and TikTok, as a result of which they have become obsessed with it. From post photos and stories of their travel, to where and what they are eating or drinking. There is no privacy about people and their life, therefore many of us have been victims of cyber attacks over the years. For instance, in the past five years, there has been a 65% rise in cyber-hack all around the world from celebrities to academy students. In addition to bank details and phone numbers, our identity is also stolen, because fake IDs are created to cheat on our name. Therefore, the negative impact of social media can't be overlooked. Secondly, due to the popularity of social media among young people rising so much, their academic performance has dropped over the course. It is believed that they are not performing so well at school or in their homework and constantly being using phones to see what's going on on their friend's Facebook or Instagram. Many schools have no phone policy, nevertheless, these kids still manage to bring it secretly. As an example, 80% of schools in Melbourne have introduced no use of phones during school hours. Furthermore, parents have also obliged the school and don't allow kids to use mobiles at home unless they have done their school work. In conclusion, although social media have some positive aspects, however, the negative impact is too much to be ignored. Hence it is important that we check ourselves from overusing it.