The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In today’s modern world, it has always been debated that, the government has many other priorities, such as developing infrastructure or implementing various revenue-generation projects despite spending on arts, music and theatres. It is also considered a senseless expenditure by many. However, I partially agree with this approach and will state my point of view in the following paragraphs. To begin with, spending on local arts, music, as well as theatres is very important, as it not only preserves the historic culture of a nation but also it creates income generation for the individuals involved in this sector. Secondly, folk arts and dramas are considered a unique part of a particular society, and also reflect the richness of a country’s past. For instance, tourists these days, in particular, not only visit any destination for the sake of sightseeing but they also want to learn and explore its traditional cultures and their roots in the past. Due to this, it is quite important to allocate enough resources for this purpose. On the other hand, without a doubt, the government have to invest an excessive amount of money in other essential sectors such as infrastructure, technology, sciences, space industries etc. Undoubtedly, there is a cut-through competition, nowadays, between countries for achieving their best, in terms of producing higher Gross Domestic Products (GDP). According to several books written by top economists, one statement was common “A country’s growth is measured with their GDP performance over four consecutive quarters”. As a result, the government is less likely spending enough on the arts and theatre industry, and ultimately they end up focusing on other important sectors. To sum up, of course, arts, theatres and music are undoubtedly very important parts of society and therefore, they have to be preserved for future generations, however, other sectors are also equally important and hence democracy can not neglect its significance. Which makes the government focus similarly on both sectors.