Some people say that the main environment problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

According to the World Health Organisation, the world is about to witness the sixth mass extinction. And, there has been a consistent loss of biodiversity throughout this period. Additionally, this has become a major environmental concern. From this issue arise two schools of thought, one call for safeguarding biodiversity and the other consider this less important. I strongly advocate the latter opinion as it solves the problem in a holistic manner. This essay will discuss both sides, my opinion followed by a comprehensive conclusion. To commence, many would argue that the extinction of plants and animals may cause an ecological imbalance. To explain further, these organisms are part of a food chain, and the loss of one species disturbs the whole network. For example, the reduction of rabbits and deer in India led to a significant drop in the Cheetah population. Similarly, global warming has been a major determinant behind the decrease in the number of vultures in India. Hence, safeguarding flora and fauna is a major concern. On the flip side, many individuals opine that climate change and the melting of glaciers are bigger challenges. Firstly, changes in weather patterns affect the habitats of living beings in an area. To explain further, the rise in average annual temperature in Africa led to the loss of one-third of elephants within a span of thirty years. Furthermore, glacial melting has been contributing to the sea-level rise. And, this is making our lands inhabitable to survive which were once very fertile. Hence, this issue needs to tackle as a priority. In my opinion, a comprehensive approach which can improve the environment is required. To illustrate, afforestation can absorb the rising carbon dioxide to reduce global warming. As a result, biodiversity can thrive in favourable temperatures ensuring ecological harmony. Hence, focusing on climate change should be the primary goal. To conclude, saving flora and fauna ensures the conservation of a diverse range of species whereas working to stop a change in climatic patterns can solve even bigger problems including biodiversity. I strongly advocate the latter opinion. Overall, governments can allocate funds as per their national interest.