Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taugh to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, a debate regarding educational methods for children has emerged. In particular, some people argue that there should be competition among them, while others say that it is detrimental to their growth. I agree with the second argument because nowadays co-operation is the most important skill that can be taught to a child. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that strong competition could have some positive effects on some children. In fact, it could encourage someone to give his best and reach their maximum potential. Furthermore, comparing themselves with peers can be useful as a motivation to pupils. For instance, almost everyone has some friend really talented in something that motivates them to give 100% and this can be true for children too. On the other hand, there are some detrimental aspects that overweigh these possible positive aspects. Firstly, in modern society, it is more important to know how to collaborate with others in teams, rather than being the most bright student. Moreover, extreme competition among children has developed in the years a toxic culture of prevailing on others at every cost, which is more harmful than beneficial. For example, some studies suggest that children taught to work in teams and uplift each other are generally more successful and less stressed in their adult life. In conclusion, I think that children, especially in school, should be taught to co-operate, because it is a needed skill of this century. As stated above, competition has limited benefits compared with the disadvantages, whereas teamwork is more required and helps live a more fulfilled life.