In many countries people increasingly talk about money (how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations). Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is almost impossible to imagine nowadays society without money. They play a vital role in everyday life and throughout the world conversations about income and expenses take place. In this essay main reasons why is it happening and why, from my point of view, it has a devastating effect on society as a whole, will be discussed. One of the main reasons why people are talking more about their budget might be the fact that everyone's priorities have changed. While previous generations valued families and friends more, the new one is considered to be more materialistic.One's success, for example, is measured mostly in a number of cars or the cost of an outfit. Since individuals prefer to speak about topics, which are important to them, it explains why everybody is talking about money. Increasing talks about finances might have a negative impact on people, as not everyone has a sufficient income. Thus, if someone rich is talking about how much they spend on holidays, for example, it might make people with low salaries feel intimidated. This might result in a growing gap between social groups in society and, consequently, negatively affected its development. In conclusion, it is worth mentioning that the growing popularity of conversations about finances might be a result of a change in values among the current generation, which has negative long-term consequences in my opinion.