Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Many people feel that today's written language is informal and more relaxing than in the past. From my perspective, I strongly believe that this development is advantageous because it is convenient and flexible. The main reason why I believe that written language in the information age is used impolitely is that it helps the writers express their feelings in a quicker way. Recently, social media network users prefer chatting in teen code or short-hand words so that they can text faster. Also, this is trendy among teenagers. Taking Messenger as an example, currently, the users text in a short-hand version like "wdym, idk, ikr,...", and these take less time to send than the whole sentences. This form of written language can save time for the writers. Additionally, choosing the modern written language, in my view, is beneficial for communicating. Another reason people choose to use this kind of non-verbal language like slang or idioms is to reduce the seriousness. From that, both the receivers and writers are comfortable and calm in the conversation. For instance, someone is attractively described by " Rizz", a popular slang in America and the UK. The disadvantage of this development is that the middle-aged or elderly might not understand this language properly. They live in the less technological generation, so they perhaps do not catch up with the new generation. This could lead to misunderstanding when two generations work together or have a talk in daily life. For example, they cannot understand what is " wdym, idk, ikr,..." until getting explanations. In conclusion, I completely agree that written language in today's society has more merits than drawbacks because it is time-saving and communicative. Given this situation, teenagers or GenZ should use written language wisely to avoid misunderstanding to work sufficiently.