Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

It is undeniable that most of the consumer goods frequently used today consist of various forms of plastics that result in a detrimental effect on the environment. It can degrade ground fertility and destroy aquatic ecosystems. The most practical solution is to implement the reuse, reduce, and recycle programs (3R). To begin with, the major impact is that the land becomes infertile. Because moulded products are made from nonbiodegradable materials, they will remain on the land for many years. Thus, the result of the degradation of larger pieces of plastics called microplastics can lead to a significant reduction in the population of ground-dwelling insects that play an important role in soil carbon and nutrient cycling. Consequently, soil fertility is degraded. Another serious threat is aquatic wildlife since a range of saltwater creatures are likely to consume plastics and their degraded substances. Ingested elastic debris will decrease their stomach ability and cause internal injury. For example, thousands of seabirds and marine mammals are killed every year due to the accumulation of plastics in their stomach. Therefore, the higher the number of plastic litter in the ocean, the higher the possibility of the depletion of marine organisms. The most viable solution to solve this problem both on the mainland and in the ocean is applying 3R programs either for the government or society. The authority has enormous power over the implementation that affects waste management in every region of the country. An example of this is that door-to-door collection regulated by the Copenhagen government gains a 70% recycling rate. Regarding citizens’ actions, the 3R program can be done by them. For instance, instead of buying drinks with single-use bottles, people can bring their Tumblr to refill the bottles. Parents can also create a homemade pencil case for their children as well as a plastic bottle vase to avoid purchasing more plastic. In conclusion, malleable pollution is harmful not only to land fertility but also to marine life, both of which can be overcome by the state to provide an integrated platform and by individuals by implementing the 3R program.