Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different culture and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It can be thought that melodies are bridges between different traditions and generations. It seems to me that music is not capable of gathering people by itself, no matter how much we admire the idea, and I will explain why in this essay. The main obstacle would appear to be the different musical traditions of distant countries, which clearly makes people who live in various countries may not have the same taste in songs. For example, it is widely observed that Mexicans are interested in more energetic rhythms, while the Swiss have a taste in classical and slower music. A further issue relates to the difference between the musical interests of the elderly and teenagers. This is caused by that they are accustomed to singers of their time and listening to their songs as pieces of art. For instance, nowadays, youngsters prefer to listen to rap opera but their parents tend to choose traditional songs which belong to the time when they were young. One final point would seem to be that a little part of the population do not interested in music and they may be into sports or fine art. Although it is generally accepted that all people worldwide are keen on music, there is a minority who do not like it, making it impossible to consider all people as music lovers to bring them together. Admittedly, the melody itself is universal and every person in the world is familiar with it and some pieces might be popular globally. Nevertheless, it has different branches and not all of them are liked by listeners. In conclusion, song preferences of people of diverse nationalities would differ and also different age groups experience unsimilar genres of music. This is not to say that any of the songs can be global but there are only a few of them that receive this property.