Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that advertising is a highly successful way to influence people to consume more items, while others think that advertisements no longer affect people and persuade them to buy new things due to advertising recently being very common. This essay aims to discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, it is said that advertising no longer affects people or convinces them to buy things anymore because it is very common and people see it everywhere. Nowadays we are bombarded by advertising from everywhere on social media platforms, TV and even in your neighbourhood, thus people ’s minds are just ignoring them because it is all have the same content and ideas. For instance, in the YouTube application, if you want to watch a video you have to see two adverts first in three minutes at least which is very annoying and people just ignore it completely and wait for a skip word to appear on their screen. It is said that everything people watch or listen even without caring about has a huge impact on our minds. From my perspective, advertising impacts our minds even without conscious thought which impacts our behaviour. On the other hand, advertising is extremely essential for companies to promote their products. Recently advertising campaigns have influenced people ’s behaviour towards consumption which is a very good method for marketing products and leads to convincing people to buy new things every month eventually. Having said that the consumption rate increased significantly over the years owing to advertisement. To illustrate, in the United States, consumers have increased dramatically to 90% over the last 20 years because of advertising campaigns they usually saw. From my point of view, advertising has an extreme effect on people ’s behaviour especially these days with a huge number of advertisers around them. In conclusion, although advertising has recently been everywhere and quite annoying, people no longer pay attention to it. I believe advertising has an impact on our minds without conscious and convincing us to purchase new products which means advertising is a very successful tool to promote your product and persuade people to buy it.