It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sport, and others are not. However, it’s sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both ideas by giving your opinion.

Every person has his/her knack for a specific subject such as music and sports. Some people think that talent is inherited and transferred by genes from ancestors to the next generation. Others argue that this can be learned to become gifted as a good sportsperson or musician. In my opinion, even though genetics are important, education and environment can also make a child talented. The genes determine all characteristics of individuals through the transmission of DNA from generation to generation. Talents and intelligence have specific genes which produce well-known proteins to express a habit such as the ability to do sports or play a musical instrument. For example, the deletion of a part of the chromosome, such as the short arm 5th chromosome decreases the learning ability of music. Therefore, inheritance has a tremendous effect on intelligence and learning talents. On the other hand, education and environment exert a substantial influence on genetic expression. These epigenetic factors change the presentation of a trait that originally is varying in expression. For instance, genetically identical twins will have different behaviours if they grow up in different families. This means that genes are the basic part of behaviours, whereas other factors may also be important. Consequently, environmental situations may change the heritage of identical genes despite their integral part of them. In conclusion, both environment and genetics have significant influences on talent.