Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem.

Excessive use of disposable items such as bags, bottles and packaging which is made of plastic is harmful to both environment and humans. There are several problems associated with the overuse of plastic products but there are measures which could be implemented to improve the situation. This essay will look at the drawbacks of this and propose some solutions. These days, people are using plastic bags and containers mindlessly for food and drinks in their daily life because these are not only convenient for them but also save a lot of time from washing the dishes. However, humans are forgetting about how plastic wastes are harmful to their land and surroundings. To illustrate, the majority of plastic wastes are unable to recycle or reprocess therefore they are required to dump in the soil definitely and, subsequently the area of landfills is getting bigger. In addition, these are bad for our health and environment because it carry toxic chemicals from the waste and end up in water supplies. As a result, many communities surrounding the area of landfills are suffering from air pollution and water contamination problems. Several suggestions could be given to overcome this issue. To begin with, the government authorities should encourage business owners to participate in the campaign to reduce unnecessary usage of plastic materials and also educate the public to use reusable cups and boxes instead of using disposable cutlery. For example, nowadays most retail shops are practising using paper bags instead of plastic ones and shoppers have to pay an additional charge for the bags if they didn’t bring their own. Consequently, the shoppers started to bring reusable bags hence they are not willing to pay extra money. Moreover, the authorities should enlighten the view of citizens with the help of technology and social media by broadcasting a short documentary about the benefits of refill, reusing and recycling. In conclusion, the extravagant use of plastic items is bad for the environment and inhabitants. Nevertheless, these problems can be dealt with if the government impose some rules and individuals think wisely about the excessive use of plastics.