In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Motivating children by telling them that everything can be obtained with dedication is a common belief in some parts of the world. Sending such a notion to youngsters is somehow beneficial to them;yet also brings about many drawbacks in later life. On the one hand, advising children to try hard helps them set goals for their future plans. When they believe it is possible to reach any destination as long as they really have a strong will, they are confident and motivated; as a consequence, possess positive energy from the start. Another merit is that they will become hard-working and well-organized people when growing up. Once a child has a habit of setting aims for whatever he is doing, he will become a determined and persistent person. For example, at my school, many students are cramming for their exams in the belief that they will pass the tests as long as they practice enough. Therefore, in some areas, parents always encourage their offspring to work hard so as to become successful in life. On the other hand, this action can do a lot of harm to young minds as well. The first downside is putting too much pressure on adolescents may result in more failure than success. If a person puts full effort into doing a task but then fails, he will be discouraged and lose faith in himself. Additionally, an over-ambitious person tends to have suicidal actions when facing challenges. They are used to being at the top and cannot stand being defeated. For instance, in Japan, there is a higher trend of young employees getting suicide because of the stress from work. Overall, demanding a child to try his best at anything is not an ideal educational method. To conclude, despite the fact that achieving the best performance in every life aspect is advantageous in some ways; nevertheless, it comes together with negative consequences.